Connect with us





The nominees for the 2019 Africa Gospel Awards Festival (AGAFEST) have been announced. The festival will take place on 8 March at the Fantasy Dome in Accra, Ghana.

This year, the award takes place with the theme Africa Under One God and seeks to honour work by gospel acts across the continent.It holds on the 8th of march ,2019.

Ghana tops the list of countries with the most nominations, having earned 79. Nigeria comes in at second place with 75 nods. Whereas Vodafone Ghana Music Award winner Joe Mettle is the most nominated Ghanaian, Tim Godfrey is the most nominated Nigerian act. Both are up for consideration in the competitive categories.

In the non-competitive categories, which include Gospel Ministry of the Year and Gospel Organisation of the Year, the organisers have already named Rebecca Malope as the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Full list of nominees below:

Non-Competitive Categories

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Rebecca Malope (South Africa)
  • Africa Gospel Ministry of the Year
  • Africa Gospel Organisation of the Year
  • Africa Gospel Charity Worker/Philanthropist of the Year
  • Africa Gospel Outreach/Evangelism Ministry of the Year

Competitive Categories 

Africa Gospel Artist of the Year

  • Joe Mettle (Ghana)
  • Tumi (South Africa)
  • Sonnie Badu (Ghana)
  • Sinach (Nigeria)
  • Diana Hamilton (Ghana)
  • Benjamin Dube (South Africa)
  • Eben (Nigeria) 

Africa Gospel Song of the Year

  • Obi Nyani Me – Patience Nyarko (Ghana)
  • Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle ft. Luigi Maclean (Ghana)
  • Nasempini – Spirit Of Praise ft. Ayanda Ntanzi (South Africa)
  • Nara Ekele Mo – Tim Godfrey ft. Travis Greene (Nigeria)
  • Ekwueme – Prospa Ochimana ft. Osinachi N (Nigeria)
  • Excess Love – Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)
  • Huniachi – Reuben Kigame ft. Gloria Muliro (Kenya)
  • Hosanna – Koda (Ghana)
  • Ulwandle – Dumi Mkokstad (South Africa)
  • Victory – Eben (Nigeria)

Africa Gospel New Artist of the Year

  • Lebohang Kgapola (South Africa)
  • Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)
  • Kobby Salm (Ghana)
  • The Kings’ Crew (Ghana)
  • Prospa Ochimana (Nigeria)
  • Jabidii (Kenya)
  • Lily Perez (Nigeria)

Africa Gospel Worship Artist of the Year

  • Joe Mettle (Ghana)
  • Sonnie Badu (Ghana)
  • Nathaniel Bassey (Nigeria)
  • Sinach (Nigeria)
  • Dr Tumi (South Africa)
  • Pastor Isaiah Ofosu Kwakye (Ghana)
  • Tim Godfrey (Nigeria)

Africa Gospel Praise Artist of the Year

  • Sammie Okposo (Nigeria)
  • Mike Abdul (Nigeria)
  • Nathaniel Bassey (Nigeria)
  • Frank Edwards (Nigeria)
  • Tim Godfrey (Nigeria)
  • Koda (Ghana)
  • Chioma Jesus (Nigeria)
  • Patience Nyarko (Ghana)
  • Spirit of Praise (South Africa)
  • Eben (Nigeria)

Africa Gospel Rap Hip Hop Artist of the Year

  • Preachers (Ghana)
  • Shane Li Boy (South Africa)
  • Solomon Spencer (South Africa)
  • Kingzkid (Ghana)
  • Kobby Salm (Ghana)
  • The Kings’ Crew (Ghana)
  • Dube Brothers (South Africa)

Africa Gospel Reggae/Dancehall Artist of the Year

  • Righteousman (Nigeria)
  • Mista Push (Nigeria)
  • Jabidii (Kenya)
  • Guardian Angel (Kenya)
  • Akesse Brempong (Ghana)
  • Nat Abbey (Ghana)
  • Moji Shortbaba (Kenya) 

Africa Gospel Artist Manager of the Year

  • Kwesi Kumi Koomson – Joe Mettle (Ghana)
  • King David – Diana Hamilton (Ghana)
  • Kumi Wilson – Patience Nyarko (Ghana)
  • Eezee Tee – Mercy Chinwo And Frank Edwards (Nigeria)
  • Pshegs – Sinach (Nigeria)
  • Kgaogelo Makweya – Dr Tumi (South Africa)
  • Lucky Sekgobela – Lebo Sekgobela (South Africa) 

Africa Gospel Female Artist of the Year

  • Sinach (Nigeria)
  • Gloria Muliro (Kenya)
  • Diana Hamilton (Ghana)
  • Patience Nyarko (Ghana)
  • Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)
  • Ntokozo Mbambo (South Africa)